John Forté – How I Fell in Love in Prison

*From the Daily Beast

After seven years in captivity, musician John Forte was freed last year when George Bush commuted his sentence. In a Daily Beast exclusive, he writes about the painful humiliations of prison life, gratitude toward Bush—and what made him fall in love with the world.
Which came first – the chicken or the egg? Well, in this case the question is more like: Which came first – the blog or the song? A couple of weeks ago, a friend invited a few others and me over to his apartment for a small dinner party. I walked into the apartment and immediately inquired about the song that was playing. Melody. Lyrics. Lasers! I was wholly transfixed.

“What is this?” I asked.
“Somebody introduced me to them the other night,” he responded. “Running Up That Hill, by the Chromatics.”

Over the course of the evening, we ate, talked, and laughed, but that song continued to haunt me. When an opportunity appropriately presented itself, I asked our host to play it again. He went above and beyond his call of duty. He not only played the song, he looked up the lyrics and the song’s history. We learned that the Chromatics were not the authors of the song; Kate Bush wrote Running Up That Hill and released it in the UK in 1985. The chorus sparked something deep inside of me:

And if I only could make a deal with God
And get him to swap our places
Be running up that road
Be running up that hill
Be running up that building

Read more here

Leave a Reply

